7AA6FAAC-EC4A-4E20-8E06-8CDC8799971A.jpeg

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I find the idea of cleaning my entire house daunting. That’s probably why I have had housekeepers on and off the majority of my adult life. To me, there is no better feeling in the world than coming home to a sparkling house without lifting a finger. While I may not be able to help you with the “lifting a finger” part, I can tell you how to get your house sparkling thanks to some tips & tricks that I learned from the pros.

To simplify things even more, I broke each task into easy to complete steps. This way, the work won’t feel as daunting and you’ll be done in no time at all!

Step 1 – Have the Right Tools 

Before you even start cleaning your house, it’s essential to stock up on the right tools. Do you have a good vacuum that actually works? Do you have a special wood cleaner and polish for your hardwood floors? In order to get your house as clean as the pros get it, you definitely need the right tools.

Below, you will find my favorite vacuum of all time…it’s a Shark Robot which is a bagless vacuum that is lightweight and easy to use. The hand piece actually comes off and there are attachments that make cleaning your car or furniture a breeze. It even has a light on the floor piece, so you can see exactly where you are going and what needs to be vacuumed up.

I included a few of my other favorites for cleaning hardwood floors below (just click on the image for more details). Murphy’s is my go to for cleaning my wood floors. Then, after I’m done cleaning my floors, I go back and use my Method cleaner to clean/polish and finish off my floors.

Step 2 – Start with the Toilets

Scrub down your toilets with a toilet bowl cleaner, then flush them. After that, use a can of coke (or any other carbonated beverage) to pour into the bowl and let it sit. The carbonation in soda helps to break down stubborn stains along with that nasty water ring that some toilets get. Now, let this sit as you do the rest of the house.

Step 3 – Declutter

I always found myself decluttering and cleaning before my housekeepers would come. While my sister thought I was insane, there’s actually a method to what she thought was madness.

In a nutshell, you set yourself up for success and ensure a great cleaning job when all of your stuff is put away where it should be. Put items in their designated “home”. Throw out trash. Pick up items off of the floor. Put your laundry in the hamper (I always start by putting my sheets in, that I have fresh linens to put on the beds when I’m done. This way, you ensure that you can focus on the task as hand without things getting in your way of cleaning.

9BB7BA48-D4C9-4641-8D9A-1ABE33B82EA2.jpeg

Step 4 – Dust 

There has been a long debate on what to do first…dusting or vacuuming. Over the years I always made it a point to ask my housekeepers this question and they have all said to start with dusting. When you dust, dust particles tend to fill the air before settling on the floor which is the logic behind the order of things.

Ever wonder how to get the dust off of ceiling fans? An old pillowcase does the trick. Just put it around each part of the fan and then wipe up all of the accumulated dust away.

Step 5 – Clean the Mirrors

Go through each room and clean every mirror that you have. Windex is my favorite cleaning product for mirrors because it truly leaves them streak free and nice & clean!

650BDDFF-D956-4D67-BDF2-1C40134064CF.jpeg

Step 6 – Clean the Kitchen

Kitchen cleaning can be broken down almost into sub-steps…gather all the dishes and either wash them or load them into your dishwasher, clean the sink, clean the counters (I personally remove any items on the counter to ensure a good job) them wipe down then windex all of the appliances. Done.

7AD80D14-29CA-42D9-867A-2FAC77FDD8BF.jpeg

Step 7 – Finish Cleaning the Bathrooms

Just like the kitchen, the bathrooms can be broken down into simple steps as well. Flush that soda out of the toilet and give it one more good scrub down (the carbonation helps to loosen stains but another scrubbing is essential to make sure you get all of that junk that was in there gone for good. Then…clean the sink, counters and shower/tub area.

44143C1D-8410-4D89-96E9-EC045F0CFD6A.jpeg

Step 8 – Vacuum EVERYTHING and Clean the Floors

When it comes to cleaning your house, the job wouldn’t be complete without vacuuming. Vacuum everything from carpet to solid surfaces and make sure to get the couches and corners of the rooms as well.

C42FEF03-5537-4678-BD77-984EC8956A8E.jpeg

Step 9 – Change the Linens

Your linens from when you first started should be close to done or finished so as soon as they are, put them on the bed and make up all of the beds.

There you have it! You’re done with cleaning…at least until next week rolls around which is when I suggest repeating this process. Keep up with this cleaning schedule and follow the steps and you’ll always have a house that is clean the the pros leave it!

Everyday Cassie is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to EverydayCassie.wordpress.com

Leave a comment